Erm, I Don’t Really Wear Big Earrings…

   Mini periwinkle maasai beaded earrings on white

     In making the Maasai beaded pieces for Hieropice, I’ve really wanted to preserve the traditional feel of the jewelry, and honor its origins.  In viewing the Maasai beaded jewelry/baskets/etc. in Tanzania, I was most struck by the vibrant colors the artisans employed.  Lost of bright blue, red, yellow and green.  And all of the jewelry was what Americans might deem large or oversized, there wasn’t a stud-earring in sight!  So, when I came back to the States and began making Maasai beaded pieces for Hieropice, though I made them my own by using semiprecious stones, faceted rondels, rocaille beads and the like, I’ve tried to maintain that bold, vivid look inherent in the African pieces.maasai beaded coasters

But, Hieropice’s jewelry is primarily marketed in the Western world, and I’ve received/considered your feedback.  Many Western women don’t wear large pieces (earrings/pendants), and I definitely don’t want to leave you guys out!  So I’ve made a pair, with more to follow, that folks who prefer smaller pieces can wear.  Our new Itty Bitty Periwinkle Maasai Beaded Earrings measure less than 2 cms in diameter, and are very light on the ear.  So no worries about getting overwhelmed by your jewelry!  The larger Maasai pieces will still be the center-point of our Maasai Beaded line, but check in soon for more Itty Bitty pieces!

With lurve, as always,

Dara

Mini periwinkle maasai beaded earrings

Leave a Reply

