Old South Church Christmas Craft Fair

old south church candles

Alright, I’m no longer in denial about it pretty much being Winter now.  Fine, fine.  It’s cold.  It snowed today.  Again.

But… That also means that the holidays are upon us!  I LOVE Christmas so much, for purely non-religious reasons.  The lovely music that never changes, the leafy garlands and pine-smelling wreaths everywhere, red berries, snow, beautifully-wrapped gifts with big ribbon-bows, hot chocolate, cider and eggnog with cinnamon, twinkling lights and giant, animatronic santas that would be tacky any other time of year, ice-skating, and that love-your-brother vibe.  I think that vibe is my favorite.  That warmth.  I love the palette of this time of year, the white, red, green.  It’s abundant and alive in the midst of a time of year that can be a bit bleak here in New England, before everything renews in the Spring.  Old South Church Craft FairLast year, I went to midnight mass at this unique Catholic church in Waltham, and the service was mutli-cultural, with singing from Congolese congregants, pine-bow decor from its Italian congregants, and all of this hushed singing in the darkened church and candle-lighting throughout the service that was just wonderful.  Looking forward to exploring a new church of different denomination this year, and experiencing some new traditions.

It’s also a crazy, crazy time for a small independent jeweler/artist/crafter like me.  I am grateful for all of the opportunities, and wonderful customers.  But I am in complete work-mode.  I’ll be doing a few craft shows in December, beginning with the Old South Church Christmas Craft Fair on Saturday, December 1st.  The venue for this show is stunning, a very old, exquisite church in the heart of Boston, with all the charm a church of its age brings.  From what I’ve seen, they deck it out quite extravagantly for Christmas as well, so I’m just excited to get to be there!  If you’re in the Boston area, come by 645 Boylston Street (Copley Square) between 9:30 AM and 3:30 PM and say hi!Gordon Chapel at Xmas

 

Happy holidays!

 

Dara

1 thought on “Old South Church Christmas Craft Fair

Leave a comment